}

Desiree's Custom Sewing Bridal Alterations

by Stephanie Sandum
(Hampton, VA)

Desiree is the best kept secret on the East Coast!!! My dress looked GOOD on me when I bought it, but once she got a hold of it she made the necessary changes and I turned around and saw the MOST BEAUTIFUL dress!!! The dress fit me like a glove, and those are the words of all my guests/bridesmaids...

She is beyond an expert in her field. I actually first took my dress to a local alternations store and the lady had no idea what to do for my dress (it was heavy on lace) and it was a bit tight in the back and I had that "back roll" and the lady who's name I will withhold suggested that I "lose 5 lbs"...

I snatched my dress and started looking on Weddingwire and came across Desiree...She was a lifesaver!!!! She made my dress fit ME not the other way around.

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Desiree Is The Best For Wedding Dress Alterations!

by Katrina
(Virginia Beach)

What an amazing job on my wedding dress! I know how to sew, but I would never have been comfortable doing my own alterations. You are wonderful and extremely easy to work with, and someone who really knows her stuff! The bustle that you magically hid in the pleats of my ballgown is my favorite part. Everything looks perfect and I cannot wait for the wedding day to come. Thank you so much, I will definitely recommend you!

Katrina,

Thanks so much for this review of my services. It was a pleasure to work with you!

Desiree
Desiree's Custom Sewing

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Wedding Dress Alterations by Desirees Custom Sewing

by Amanda
(Wedding: September 2012)

A big thank you for a job well done! After a few appointments to make things perfect I put my dress on the day of the wedding and it fit me perfectly. I appreciated the extra attention paid to make sure I would be comfortable on my big day.

Hi Amanda,

You are so welcome! And thanks for taking the time to do this review. I'm glad the adjustments made worked and you felt comfortable in your gown on your wedding day. It always makes me feel good to know that I accomplished what a customer wanted. Wishing you all the best!

Desiree

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Mother of the Groom Alteration Review for Desiree's Custom Sewing

by Ann M.
(Chesapeake, Va)

I bought a very expensive mother of the groom dress for my son's May wedding. It had a ton of ruffles in the front and a bit of a train (also with ruffles!). I needed to get it shortened and taken it a bit to make it look just perfect. Since I had bought the dress in Florida at an exclusive boutique shop, none of the stores here would alter it for me. I finally took it to an alteration shop in Norfolk. The woman there just looked at it and shook her head before telling me that she wouldn't touch it. I then took it to another woman who was recommended to me by a boutique store in Norfolk. She looked at the dress and started pinning up the shoulders and the waist but when she came to the ruffles and the length, I could tell that she wasn't sure how to shorten the dress. I could also tell that her plan was just to cut off the ruffles at the bottom which would have changed the look of the dress. When I asked her if she could fix the dress, she paused and said, "Sure...but you will have to come back after I do the shoulders and the waist and let me see what I can do with the length." She also couldn't tell me how much it would cost since she didn't know exactly how she was going to fix the length. Not reassuring. By now I was beginning to panic - was there anyone out there who could fix this dress in time for the wedding? I spent all evening scanning the internet and came across Desiree's website. I immediately emailed her and pleaded my case. She responded very quickly and assured me that she could indeed fix the dress since she has 28 years of experience designing and making wedding dresses! I just got the dress back today and it fits like a dream! She is EVERYTHING I had hoped she would be and fixed the dress in no time flat! Nothing was cut off, I still have the train, and the dress looks gorgeous! I am thrilled to have found my new go-to seamstress! She is absolutely the best and I can't say enough good things about her! Her price was reasonable given all the work she had to do (she shortened EACH layer of ruffles!)and managed to fit me in during a very busy season! I absolutely recommend her for anything that needs fixing!

Comments for Mother of the Groom Alteration Review for Desiree's Custom Sewing

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 10, 2014
Not a bit surprised :-)!
by: Terry Morris

"Way to go Desiree, way to go"!!!! I'm not a bit surprised at this awesome review about You & your services. It was such a joy & no worrying when you altered my daughter's wedding gown, 12 years ago. I'm so glad after all these years you have Not changed or "given up" on your important attributes, as patience, kindness and most of all caring. Many people in various chosen careers, are not given their customers/consumers the zeal and expertise they had upon starting a business. But You have & are still giving the Same professional service, that made you famous & the "talk of the town" from the beginning of your career all the way to now!!! Keep up the good, no EXCELLENT work!!! We need more people like you in our lives. Thanks again.
From: Terry Morris (former mother-of-bride)

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Review For Desiree's Custom Sewing Wedding Dress Alterations

by Debbie Fisher

My daughter's gown recently arrived from New York .. we were so excited opening the box and knew it would fit perfectly because the designer had personally measured her for the gown. Much to our disappointment, the gown was way too large. I know how to sew, but was not about to attempt alterations on this dress with all of the detail. Too many beads and embellishments for me to feel comfortable, not to mention all of the different layers and types of fabrics that would have to be addressed in alterations.

Panic set in looking for just the right person to make the correction, but after reading all of the information on Desiree's web page, I knew she would be the best qualified to handle our situation.

We head out today to have my daughter's bridal portrait taken, so excited ... and we have Desiree to thank for her dress turning out so beautifully. We are thrilled (and relieved!) to have found Desiree. Her work is beyond impeccable. Alterations were not only fairly priced, but done in a very timely manner. Very noticeable in her work, Desiree is a seasoned professional.

I will continue to pass her name on to others with confidence and without hesitation as she is truly the best in her field.

Bless you Desiree!

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Review For Desirees Custom Sewing Wedding Alterations

by Terry Morris
(Hampton, VA)

Ms. Brown, made the most elegant choices for my daughter's wedding dress. Ms. Brown name of her website is exactly correct. Her dress was PERFECT.

Anyone can buy the same dress, many brides come out looking the same. One of my daughter's best friends bought my daughter exact same dress from the same store, but Ms. Brown added pearls like beads to my daughter straps that made her dress different and more eloquence.

It was May 2002. We will never forget all that she did and will forever treasure in our hearts. My only problem is where was Ms. Brown in 1979 when I was a bride!!! Thank so very very much!!!

From: Terry Morris

It makes me happy to know that my working on your daughter's dress after all these years still bring back happy memories for you.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of my services.

Desiree

Comments for Review For Desirees Custom Sewing Wedding Alterations

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 07, 2013
Follow Up On Bridal Gown Alteration Review
by: Terry Morris

Hi Desiree,
After posting my reviews, last night my family, all sat in my living room sharing & enjoying the fond memories of the wedding & how YOU was one of the BEST choices, in planning the wedding 11 years ago, this May.

My only grand daughter, Nichelle (8yrs. old) was so excited to hear us share our wedding experience about you. Kendra have agreed to post her wedding dress! I'll let you know as soon as we choose which picture. We all agreed the dress was Perfect, making it hard to pick the best picture. I'll be getting back with real soon.


Click here to add your own comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Wedding Dress Alterations by Desirees Custom Sewing

by Amanda
(Wedding: September 2012)

A big thank you for a job well done! After a few appointments to make things perfect I put my dress on the day of the wedding and it fit me perfectly. I appreciated the extra attention paid to make sure I would be comfortable on my big day.

Hi Amanda,

You are so welcome! And thanks for taking the time to do this review. I'm glad the adjustments made worked and you felt comfortable in your gown on your wedding day. It always makes me feel good to know that I accomplished what a customer wanted. Wishing you all the best!

Desiree

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Bridal Alterations Review Desiree's Custom Sewing

Yana and Alex 10.13.12 Wedding Date

Yana and Alex 10.13.12 Wedding Date

This picture postcard was mailed to me December 2012 with this note:

Dear Desiree,

Thank you so much for altering my dress, as you can see it came out wonderful! Have a great upcoming hokiday.

Yana & Alex

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Wedding Dress Alteration Review for Desiree's Custom Sewing

by Donna C.
(Hampton, VA, USA)

I just Picked my wedding dress up from Ms. Desiree today and it is ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!! I bought my wedding gown at David's Bridal and it came in 2 sizes too small. Of course I started to panic because no bride wants to put their dress on and realize that it doesn't zip!

I found Ms. Desiree online and through reading other reviews and seeing some of the other work she has done, I knew my dress would be in the best hands. I called her up and told her my dilemma and she sounded very optimistic about being able to help me out. Her business is ran out of her home, which is very cozy and comfortable and all of her attention is completely focused on you, unlike going into a store where they are trying to rush through your appointment to get to the next person. She allots more than enough time for you so that you are her only focus.

I asked her about changing the back of my dress from a zip up to a corset and she agreed that it would work well on the dress I have. I just had my final fitting with Ms. Desiree today and as soon as I put my dress on and she tied up the back, I fell in love with my gown all over again.

The hem was perfect, the bustle was perfect, the back was perfect. Ms. Desiree really knows what she's doing and I would recommend her to any bride for their alterations. Her work is amazing and her prices are better than reasonable. Thank you Ms. Desiree!

Hi Donna,
Thank you for such a glowing review. I too was very pleased with how the corset back turned out and the hem since it was detailed and multi-layered. It was a pleasure to work with you!

Desiree

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Desiree's Custom Sewing Bridal Alterations

by tsper001
(Virginia Beach, VA)

I have visited Desiree on two occasions so far (for my wedding dress and for a bridesmaid dress). Both visits Desiree exceeded my expectations on her alterations! She really does an exquisite job on altering dresses.

My second visit was very last minute on my part (giving her one week for fittings and alterations), and she managed to accommodate me and with time to spare! I will be definitely be continuing to use Ms. Desiree for all my dress alterations needs in the future.

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Wedding Dress

by Gina K
(Hampton VA)

Desiree, My daughter was the most beautiful bride in the world!!! I appreciate how flexible you were with seeing us at our convenience. Your alterations were perfect for my 4'11" daughter, as you know bridal gowns are typically made for brides of 5'7" or taller. The dress fit perfectly. I just can't thank you enough!!

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Wedding Dress Alterations

by Juwana
(Virginia Beach)

Mrs. Desiree was wonderful. The price was very reasonable for the type of dress I had. I am looking forward to wearing my dress.

Hi Juwana,

I enjoyed working with you! And thanks for taking the time to do this review of my services.

Desiree

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Wedding Alterations

by Rebekah

I was really nervous when I had to find someone to alter my vintage looking dress, but when I called Desiree she was so professional that I was sure she would do a terrific job. I was so pleased with the final product I would recommend her to any one trying to get ready for their big day! She was always willing to work with my hectic schedule and she listened to what I wanted the dress to come out looking like. With so many other things to stress about for my wedding it was a blessing to know my dress was in her very capable hands! She is the absolute best at what she does and I can't imagine taking my dresses to anyone else ever again! Thanks Desiree!

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Wedding Dress Alterations

by Kristen C
(Newport News, Va)

Thank you so very much for altering my wedding dress! It was a great experience with only you and your total attention. You worked great with hearing my opinion and what I wanted done. The dress came out perfect! Very affordable and attentive to details!

Hello Kristen

I enjoyed working with you and thanks so much for using my bridal alterations services. I really appreciate your taking the time to post this review.

Desiree
Desiree's Custom Sewing

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Wedding Dress Alteration

by Amy A
(Hampton, VA)

Desiree is a true professional! She is efficient with her time and her suggestions made my dress turn out even more beautiful than when I bought it. Thank you Desiree for your hard work and beautiful craftsmanship!

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Pregnant Bride Wedding Dress Alterations

by Tiosha M.
(Chesapeake, VA )

My experience with Desiree was amazing! I got more than what I expected. My wedding was June 20, 2009 and I purchased my dress in March 2009 knowing I would be six months pregnant on my wedding day. To add to matters, I am only 5 feet tall.

The dress I purchased was made for someone who is at least 5’ 8” if not taller and it had a very detailed train. I was so afraid that I would not be able to get the dress to look the way I wanted it to.

Desiree was very knowledgeable and professional when I e-mailed her with my concerns which gave me confidence in her service. My first meeting with her was extremely comfortable and she was incredibly personable.

I met with her two more times after that and the result of my alterations was AMAZING. It almost brought tears to my eyes when I saw the finished product on my body...exactly what every bride deserves the week before her wedding!! She was able to take my dress up 8 inches without losing any detail and accommodate for my growing stomach.

My day would not have been the same without Desiree and I will always be grateful for her. If I ever know anyone who needs bridal alterations, I'm definitely recommending Desiree’s Customer Sewing!!!

Tiosha M.

Click here to post comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.

Wedding Dress Alterations

by Bella
(Newport News)

She fit my dress to my wedding.
She knew that I was having a simple wedding, so she kept my dress simple but beautiful. When Mrs. Desiree altered my wedding dress, she knew what my dress needed to fit my body perfectly for my wedding day. Her price was very reasonable and the time that she altered my dress was very fast. I would recommend her to anyone. I am extremely happy with what she did and I would like to thank her for doing such a beautiful job on it.

Comments for Wedding Dress Alterations

Click here to add your own comments

May 19, 2017

by: Desiree

Thanks Bella!

Click here to add your own comments

Return to Wedding Dress Alterations Reviews.


*Click here to read our disclosure regarding affiliate and advertising sponsors.